On the weekend of February 23 to 25, 2024, the Alberta Soccer Association celebrated its Annual General Meeting in the beautiful town of Banff. Social gathering, interactive sessions on different topics, and our Awards Banquet were enjoyed during Friday and Saturday, while elections were held on Sunday. Here is a comprehensive list of the elections and Awards that were given during the weekend:

BoD Elections

In this year’s election, the Membership elected a Vice President, a Director of Finance, a Director-at-Large, and a Rural Director-at-Large:

  • Vice President: Junior Figueiredo – Departing: Maureen Keough
  • Director of Finance: Colin McLeod – Departing: Julie Beschell
  • Director-at-Large: Neelam Chawla
  • Rural Director-at-Large: Danny Bowie (Returning)

You can find the full list of Directors here.

Awards Banquet

On Saturday, February 24, 2024, the Rimrock Hotel in Banff was host to our Awards Banquet, celebrating the 2023 Award winners. Some of our special guests that evening were Canada Soccer President Charmaine Crooks, Canada Soccer Directors Stephanie Geosits and Orest Konowalchuk, BC Soccer President Gayle Statton, and NWT Soccer President Alex Godfrey. Our keynote speech was in charge of Rob Kerr, renowned journalist and sports marketing professional from Calgary. Mitch Peacock, a voice with vast experience in the sports world, accompanied us as official emcee for the evening.

The award winners list of 2023 include:

  • Golden Shoe Award – Youth – BTB 2006/2008 High Performance
  • Silver Badge Award – Lillian Ryu
  • Golden Whistle Award – Pierre Leroux
  • Coach of the Year Award – Tayla Cowan
  • Bert Goldberger Technical Leader Award – Leon Hapgood
  • Woman of Distinction – Maureen Keough/Julie Beschell
  • Award of Merit – Diogo Raposo/Pius Ishiekwene
  • Shield of Merit – Derek Wooldridge/Hussein Shabdi
  • Special Recognition – Edmonton Ital-Canadian SC
  • President’s Award – Laurence Pan

You can see detailed information on all these awards here.

For a comprehensive photo album of our Awards Banquet, please click here.