Each year at the end of the season, teams in the Alberta Major Soccer League nominate both a player and coach whose skill and leadership deserves special recognition. Based on these nominations, the teams then vote to select the AMSL’s Coach of the Year and Most Valuable Male and Female Players of the Year. The winners are acknowledged at Alberta Soccer’s annual Awards Banquet in February 2018.

Congratulations and well done to the following individuals who were nominated by their respective teams. Alberta Soccer looks forward to announcing which of you are selected as the leagues Coach and Players of the Year!

Female Player of the Year Nominations

Callies Yvonne Northover
Foothills WFC Kayla Kreutzer
Rapids FC Krysten Strand
Lethbridge FC Erica Augsten
Northwest United Lauren Granberg
Scottish Angels Taylor Patterson
Victoria NicoleByrne

Male Player of the Year Nominations

Callies Ian Greedy
Dinosaurs Ryan Doering
Drillers Cameron Schmidt
Green & Gold Connor James
Lethbridge FC Sean Gaiesky
Scottish Christopher Kooy
Victoria Edem Mortotsi
Villains Elite Jordan Alvarez


Coach of the Year Nominees – Female Team

Callies Raf Premji
Foothills WFC Alexandra Valerio
Rapids FC George Al Haddad
Lethbridge FC Kayla Wurzer
Northwest United Dean Cordeiro
Scottish Angels Rocky Deluca
Victoria Rick Haxby


Coach of the Year Nominees – Male Team

Callies Dave Randall
Dinosaurs Eddie Bardana
Drillers Ralf Schmidt
Green & Gold Martin Anderson
Lethbridge FC Bruce Primeau
Scottish Kevin Poissant
Victoria Talal Alwaid
Villains Elite Chris Baker